top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin Kim

_DES241_Weekly Blog no.2_ Augmented Reality...

Updated: Aug 9, 2021


In week 2, I developed technical skills on developing a Snapchat filter. The overall experience was pretty straight forward except for the Script Graph. This established my skillsets on my upcoming assignment which was to design an augmented reality.


Before starting, I needed to start with an idea and develop from that. I had to be realistic with my plan because there were limitations in making my design. The regulations being that the design had to be appropriate, I possess less than basic coding knowledge, and I had limited time. I did not have enough time to ideate and conceptualise, so I immediately went straight to creating a mood board and then started once I had a vision in mind.



Creative Process and Development

I started my process by creating my assets of the filter. I did not face any challenges because I already had a preconceived vision: a black cat. Along with the cat, I also illustrated the cat-ears and blush marks on Clip Studio Paint using a Wacom tablet.



Technical Process and Development

My original plan was to when the user wink, the cat winks, and in that process, "I hope you have a bad day" pops up on the screen, but I faced multiple technical struggles. The winking trigger was complicated and complex to create on a script. So instead of winking, I replaced it with tapping because it was less complex than winking and less time-consuming. Along this process, I struggled here and there, but I managed to pull through to the design that I have present.



Final Reflection

Overall my final presentation is a three different states: 1) cat, 2) cat winking and 3) cat winking with "I hope you have a bad day." The user can change states by tapping on the phone. I am satisfied with the final presentation.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page